Testimonials

The following is a recommendation letter for my Study Abroad application, written by Ann Byrne, my professor and mentor at Ithaca College.

(Contact Ann: (607) 274-1067 or byrne@ithaca.edu)

How long and in what capacity have you known this applicant?  (*)

“Jill was an active student in both the Interpersonal Communication and Business and Professional Communication classes I taught. I have known her since the spring semester of 2013. Jill is very personable and has kept abreast of her accomplishments. I am happy to write a positive recommendation on her behalf.”

Describe the applicant in terms of intellectual ability and academic performance.  (*)

“Jill is an intelligent, motivated student with a wonderful sense of humor. While in my classes she demonstrated an intelligent curiosity about the subject matter. The work she presented to me was neat and well organized. I was impressed by Jill’s persistence in learning all she could and taking advantage of the opportunities presented. On several occasions Jill would come to my office to discuss concepts beyond the class lectures. She also revised work for the sake of learning and not for a grade. Jill gave several speeches throughout the semester in the Business and Professional Communication course and was very open to criticism and listens well, two impressive attributes which make her a stand out. Her classmates were very attentive during her speeches and disclosed they enjoyed listening to her because they learned much from her presentations. Students are asked to work closely with their peers in my courses and I am pleased to report Jill worked well as a group member supporting and listening carefully to her fellow group members. Her group produced excellent results.”

Describe the applicant in terms of maturity, adaptability, concern for others, and reliability.

“Ms. Koehnken has shown social maturity. She is working for a Bachelor of Science in Integrated Marketing Communications, with minors in Communication Management & Design and Theatre. She is active in both fields as her resume discloses, is organized and dependable. When she had a question concerning either of the course’s content, she came directly to my office and spoke to me about the concern. It is through these visits I have gotten to know Jill. She seeks out opportunities and actively pursues them to successful ends. This past summer she interned in NYC for Viacom working under their Entertainment network division working on marketing projects. At the end of the summer, she wrote a beautifully written thank you note to me describing how the skills gleaned from my classes helped her to be successful. She writes thank you notes, I believe that speaks well of her character. Jill is a dedicated student with a bright disposition. She has experience adjusting to different environments and works to make the best of any situation. She is excited to study abroad. Please look favorably on her application.”

In your opinion, is the applicant’s scholastic record an accurate index of his/her ability?  (*)

“No. I will say, Jill works to have a greater understanding of course content whether or not work is graded. She loves to learn and will study for understanding.”

How do you evaluate the applicant’s chances of academic success abroad?  (*)

“Excellent!”

Please list any information that, in your opinion, would be helpful for the admission process.  (*)

“I am certain as an Integrated Marketing student, Jill recognizes and will take advantage of the opportunities presented to her in London. Not only is she excited about studying in London, but she is a good college ambassador. She applied for a job working for the Phone-A-Thon’s Annual Fund so she can help promote IC and utilize both her communication and theatre management box office skills she obtained in the past. Jill is a responsible, caring individual who thinks of others. Please do not hesitate to contact me concerning Jill.”

Do you recommend the applicant for admission? 

“I strongly recommend this student for study abroad.”

Leave a comment